Management of Information Systems

Please note that this pathway will be closed to new registrations on 1 December 2015.

We will continue to support learners currently registered on the pathway. The final MIS specific exams will be in the June 2016 assessment session.

This will be the final opportunity to sit a new MIS unit but learners will be able to retake units in the December 2016 exam session.

If you have any concerns regarding this, please email

Information is crucial to running a successful business. Technology now provides a range of information systems, so a modern manager needs to understand the way they can be used to develop and control the business.

ABE now offer a Management of Information Systems pathway within the Business Management programme. The new pathway system allows greater flexibility for students, who now have the option to achieve additional qualifications. The Management of Information Systems pathway contains three levels of Ofqual accredited qualifications to improve your information management knowledge and skills. These are Level 4 Diploma, Level 5 Diploma and Level 6 Diploma as shown in the table below.

ABE has also developed the Extended Diploma in Business Management (Financial Management pathway), comprising 13 units in one stand-alone qualification. It is accredited by Ofqual as a Level 6 qualification. The programme can still be taken as two separate qualifications at Levels 5 and 6. For more information about this qualification, please click here.

Current qualifications offered by the Business Management programme for all pathways:

*Click on the titles below to read the specifications for that qualification*

Qualification Title No. of Units Ofqual No.
ABE Level 4 Diploma in Business Management 4 (500/8792/7)
ABE Level 5 Diploma in Business Management 8 (600/6110/8)
ABE Level 6 Diploma in Business Management 5 (600/6055/4)
ABE Level 6 Extended Diploma in Business Management 13 (600/6087/6)
ABE Level 7 Diploma in Business Management 5 (501/2245/9)

To download the programme brochure click here

ABE has developed Study Manuals for the Business Management programme. These can be ordered via the Members Area once you have registered with ABE.

*What is a pathway?
ABE’s Level 4, 5 and 6 Diplomas in Business Management are divided into three separate ‘pathways’. A pathway is a combination of units (with some options within them) which enable you to specialise in a particular area. The three pathways are Business Management, Financial Management, and the Management of Information Systems. All successful students will receive a Diploma in Business Management (at the appropriate level).


*Click on the individual unit title to view the syllabus for that unit*

Level 4 Diploma

Compulsory units

Click here to download the qualification purpose statement for the ABE Level 4 Diploma in Business Management (QCF).

Level 5 Diploma

Compulsory units

Optional units (choose two from)

Level 6 Diploma

Compulsory units

Level 6 Extended Diploma

Compulsory units

Optional units (choose two from)

Level 7 Diploma in Business Management

Students who wish to continue their studies after achieving an ABE Level 6 or Extended Diploma, may want to consider the Level 7 Diploma. More information about which can be found here:

  • To find out what the levels mean, please click here

  • To view entry requirements for Levels 4, 5 and 6, please click here

  • To look at progression options for ABE qualification holders, please click here

  • To search for a college to study at, please click here